Who's who

A warm welcome to our Governing Body from Mr Ray Jeffrey, Chair of Governors

Like all schools, Christ Church School is overseen by its governing body. The governors work with the Head Teacher:

·         to set the overall strategic plans for the school

·         to set the school’s budget

·         to set targets for the school- and we monitor the school’s performance.

Our role is to support and challenge the headteacher and her team to ensure that your child’s experience is excellent in every aspect.

In addition, as a Voluntary Aided Faith School, our governing body is responsible for setting the school’s admissions policy, and for maintaining the church ethos of the school.

We have a strong governing body which was rated as outstanding by Ofsted in our last inspection- they used the words outstanding and formidable. And the reason is - because we have a passion for our school and every child within.

We are a mixed bunch including; a scientist, a builder, an employment specialist, an accountant, a TA at another local school, a director of a housing association and 2 local businessmen - a really wide range of skills. Rev Canon Cousins is the vice chair of the governing body and is the rector at Christ Church Parish. Please see below for the names of our Governors.

In a nutshell our governing body is made up of representatives of church, the school community, and the wider community and we are here for your child – no other reason.

Kind Regards

Ray Jeffrey

Chair of Governors


  • Mr Ray Jeffrey

    Chair of the Governing Body

  • Rev Graham Canon Cousins

    Vice Chair of the Governing Body

  • Mrs Amanda Donelan


  • Mr Steve Singleton

    Foundation Governor

  • Mr Keith Culligan

    Foundation Governor

  • Mr Steve Eaves

    Foundation Governor

  • Mrs Lynda Jones

    Foundation Governor

  • Mrs Debbie Briscoe

    Co-opted Governor

  • Mrs Vicky Walton

    Parent Governor

  • Miss Belen Manley

    Staff Governor

If parents would like to contact the Parent Governors, the school has a direct e-mail address for them. It is:


 Further information can also be found on: National Governors Website