Early Years Foundation Stage

Who's Who?

Mrs Campbell

Mrs Campbell

Class 1 Teacher


Mrs Osborn

Mrs Osborne

Class 2 Teacher


Mrs McNay

Mrs McNay

Teaching Assistant


Mrs Cowen

Mrs Cowen

Teaching Assistant



Learning and the Early Years at Christ Church C of E Primary School

Our Early Years curriculum is focused on developing children's confidence and understanding whilst ensuring that they have the essential basics of learning. We aim to ensure that our children learn how to play; share; communicate and respond to others. These are often referred to as the prime areas of the Early Years curriculum.

Whilst we are developing these areas, we also need to ensure that our children have the foundation knowledge and understanding in reading, writing, mathematics, using technology and other key aspects of learning.  These are often referred to as the specific areas of the Early Years curriculum.

Early Years Learning Explained

The Early Years Curriculum progresses from 0 to 5. At Christ Church C of E Primary School, your children will complete the final year of the Early Years curriculum.  They are in Foundation 2 (often called reception).

The Early Years curriculum is divided into 7 areas of learning.  Some areas of learning have individual aspects.  They are:

Prime Areas of Learning


Prime Areas of Learning






Personal, social and emotional development (PSE)



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design


Listening and attention   

Moving and handling

Self-confidence and self-awareness



People and communities

Exploring media and materials


Health and self -care

Managing feelings and behaviour


Shape, space & Measures

The world

Being imaginative




Making relationships







Our curriculum is organised around the interests of the children to engage their learning.  This might be a book; a film or a topic of interest such as superheroes etc. These themes change regularly. Parents are updated about our current themes in regular, half termly newsletters.

Children are taught literacy, maths and phonics everyday according to their stage of development. They also read regularly and have weekly lessons related to the theme of learning.  

Assessment and the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The assessment framework for the Early Years curriculum is divided into different stages.  Each aspect of the Early Years curriculum is assessed on a framework that progresses from 0 to 5.    

 In Foundation 2 we focus on:

  • 30-50 months stage of development
  • 40-60 months stage of development
  • Early Learning Goals (ELG)

The expectation is that by the end of Foundation 2, children will achieve the Early Learning Goals for each aspect of learning.

Nationally there is what is deemed to be a Good Level of Development by the end of Foundation 2.  That is where children achieve the Early Learning Goals in all the prime areas and the specific areas for mathematics and Literacy.  

Generally assessment takes place through teacher observation of children’s learning and development as they take part in everyday activities as well as teacher assessment of their progress in literacy, maths and phonics. At the end of Foundation 2 we will report your child's level of achievement.  Your child's learning journeys and assessment data can also be discussed during the year through parents' evenings.  If you have any specific queries please speak to your child's class teacher.

Files to Download

Student Login